Leslie Sharp wrote BH Football Association in 1971

First letter
August 25, 1971
Mr. Gilmore Hinkson
Secretary, BH Football Association
Belize City

Dear Mr. Hinkson,
Below is a summary of the dominant footballers in the districts as far back as I can remember.


Period 1945-1950: Main teams – Wembley; CAC; Saxon. Outstanding players: Delfino Marcello; Joe Mike; Matthieu Martinez; Marshal Vicente; Cecilio Cacho (wings); Naco Ysaguirre; Kuylen Brothers.

Period 1950-1952-53: Football in sleep.

Period 1953-1968: Main teams – Queens Park Rangers, sponsored by the BH Citrus Company. Goalkeepers – Horncraft Castillo; Frank Lightburn; Orlando Orio; Douglas Ramos. Defense – Hugh Waite; Jimmy Miller; Crispin Blanco (black mint); Hubert Westby (Sleep); Ricardo Reyes (Tino). Half Line – Delfino Marcello (Vice Captain); Jerry Sharp; Holbert Westby (Dodo); Raymond Cacho; Cito Ellis; Billy Gill; Rodwell Leslie; Allan Jackson. Forwards – LW ​​Sharp (captain and founder); Peto Haylock; Joe Mendez; Matthieu Martinez; Hector Silva; Daniel Lino (Donn D); Victor Martinez (Tobruk); Wallace Smith (Smithie); Fred Martinez.

NB In my opinion the greatest player ever produced by Stann Creek and probably this country is Delfino Marcello, who started playing in 1935 at the age of 17, and still plays in the Interdepartmental Football Competition of the Company in the District of Corozal.


With the exception of the inter-district competition that Orange Walk once won, very little is known of their prowess in the sport over the past 20 years. However, they have a very promising group with exceptional players like: Orvin Hendricks (Stud); Emilio Chable (Caranza); Celso Quijano (Chaparo); Winston Gavilan (Tamango).


The Corozal district, like Orange Walk, has never done very well outside of their region. However, they have produced top caliber players, such as: Orlando Orosco; Johnny Martinez; Adolfo Martínez; Rommy Martinez; Nélito Martinez; Enrique Martinez; Jaime Craig; Eddy Laurent.

Although it has never won an inter-district competition, Corozal District is unique in that it is the first to produce a team outside of Belize City to win the league championship.

The team referred to here is the San Joaquin Football Club which won the 1969 All BHKO competition; second place in the league championship in 1969. They won the BH league championship 1970 and 1971. On top of that, they came out victorious in a quadrangular championship in 1970 in Chetumal, Quintana Roo.

The sponsor of this team is Mr. Raymond Ysaguirre, supported by Belize Sugar Industries Ltd. The coaches for the past three years are Mr. Jose Castro (Tito) and MLW Sharp.

The key players during this period were: Goalkeeper РAlton Mossiah. Defense РDionicio Tek; Fabiolo Cowo; David Herstig; Ricardo Reyes; Ernest Miguel. Half Line РJesus Lima; Leocario Mayen (Malanga); Florentino Cowo (Chel); William Gill (Billy). Forwards РFred Martinez; Wallace Smith; Thomas Mendez, Jr.; Raymond Alvarez (Tau); Christophe Mayen (Chris); Enrique Belisle (Beeks); Cornelio Martinez (N̩lito); Gabriel Arana (Paddy); Antonio Arana (Tony); Prospero Campos; Pablo Francisco.

You can extract any information from the above that you think will be of interest to readers.
(signed) LW Sharp

Second letter

August 27, 1971

Dear Mr. Hinkson,
In addition to what I already provided to you in my letter of August 25, 1971, below is information that I have compiled to the best of my recollection about football in the Cayo District over the past 20 years.

From 1952 to 1955 Cayo had a very important team called “Los Tropicales”. Their outstanding players were: Pappy Habet; Earl Haylock; The Lisbey Brothers; Bedran.
I have very little knowledge of what happened to them between 1956 and 1964 while I was away.

From 1965 to 1970 Cayo returned to the forefront, especially in 1970 and 1971, with its “Avengers” team, which had the greatest misfortune not to win the Competition, because it was the most skillful and the most attractive. of all teams in the past. two seasons.

The success of this team relies on their coach Mr. Alwyn Smith and the skills of: Pappy Smith; Pilis Neal; Maya Ortega; Teo Lennon; Fast Henri; Timmy Bedran.

Please replace the correct names when nicknames have been used.

Below are the names of the people I have chosen for the districts to play against the St. George’s Old Boys Association team, which you can include in your brochure if you find it useful.

SAN JOAQUIN РRicardo Reyes (Captain); L̩ocario Mayen; Johnny Martinez; Jesus Lima; David Herstig; Raymond Alvarez; Alton Mossiah (Goalkeeper); Christophe Mayen.
AVENGERS – Speedy Henry (vice-captain); Timmy Bedran; Pilis Neal; Teo Lennon; Grandpa Smith.

ORANGE MARKET – Orvin Hendricks; Emilio Chable; Winston Gavilan (Goalkeeper).

STANN STREAM – Fred Martinez; Daniel Lino.

Total – 18 players. All my wishes.

(signed) LW Sharp
Cc: Mr. R. Ysaguirre

About Betty J. Snyder

Check Also

Top of the table clash ends in a draw – Gozo Football Association

October 9, 2022 GFA BOV Gozo Division I Football League (MD 6) Gozo Stadium Nadur …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.