Rtl today – american football: Peyton Manning to head the 2021 class of the Pro Football Hall of Fame


Quarterback Peyton Manning, wide receiver Calvin Johnson and wide-out Drew Pearson were inducted into the Professional Football Hall of Fame during the 2021 dedication ceremonies on Sunday in Canton, Ohio.

Manning was introduced by his father, Archie, who also enjoyed a long career as a star quarterback in the National Football League.

Two-time Super Bowl winner Peyton Manning thanked his father, describing him as “my favorite quarterback, my hero, my role model.”

Defensive back Charles Woodson, safety back John Lynch, guard Alan Faneca, coach Tom Flores and scout Bill Nunn join Manning, Pearson and Johnson in this year’s class.

When he retired five years ago, Manning had a series of league passing records. His stellar career spanned 17 seasons and included five Most Valuable Player awards.

Manning spent most of his career with the Indianapolis Colts but also played for the Denver Broncos.

“I don’t know about you, but I’m not done with this game,” Manning told Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium.

“I never will be. I am committed to securing its future, and I hope you will join me in this commitment.”

Pearson is considered one of the greatest players of the 1970s, best remembered for catching the winning touchdown pass from quarterback Roger Staubach “Hail Mary” in a thrilling 1975 playoff competition. against the Minnesota Vikings.

He played for the Cowboys from 1973 to 1983, being part of the All-Pro team three times. He finished with 56 touchdowns, 557 catches and nearly 9,000 yards.

“It’s not about how long it takes to get here,” Pearson said, “but more about how you wait. My expectation has been backed up by my faith.”

Johnson ended his nine-year career with 731 receptions for 11,619 yards and 83 touchdowns, while Flores was the first man to win the Super Bowl as a player, assistant coach and head coach.

“You can’t do it alone,” Flores said. “It doesn’t happen in a vacuum. A lot of people have helped me.”

Five members of the Class of 2020 were inducted into the Professional Football Hall of Fame on Saturday. They had to wait a year due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The class of 2020 included safety Steve Atwater, wide receiver Isaac Bruce, offensive guard Steve Hutchinson, running back Edgerrin James, safety Troy Polamalu and two head coaches – Bill Cowher and Jimmy Johnson.


About Betty J. Snyder

Check Also

Exclusive: Ex-Bradford Bulls winger wants rugby return after playing American football professionally and a spell at Wigan Warriors

Jacob Smillie’s name rubs shoulders with those of Valentine Holmes and other brave rugby league …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.