Thiel College Athletic Hall of Fame welcomes 2005 football team, Dante Darby ’04 | Sports


GREENVILLE – The 2005 soccer team and American football linebacker and assistant coach Dante Darby ’04 were entered into the Thiel College Athletic Hall of Fame on Friday night during Homecoming 2021.

A four-year-old starter, Darby has been honored three times in the All-PACs, including first-team accolades in 2002. He has been a four-time defensive MVP or team co-MVP and was an All- pick. American from the Lutheran Brotherhood in 1999.

Darby has recorded 322 career tackles, the third-biggest in program history. He had 42.5 career tackles for a loss in yards, the fifth-largest in school history.

Darby coached Thiel’s linebackers for three seasons (2005-07) while also serving as the College’s multicultural affairs advisor.

The 2005 team was 10-0 in the regular season and won the third program presidents athletic conference title and the first since 1972. It was the first team in program history to win. an NCAA Division III playoff berth, the first to host an NCAA Division. III playoff game and the first to win an NCAA Division III playoff game (against Johns Hopkins, 28-3).

The Tomcats, who set 24 school records in 2005, ranked No. 15 in Don Hansen’s Football Gazette Top 40, No. 16 in the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Coaching Survey, and No. ° 17 by‘s Top 25 at the end of the season.

Jack Leipheimer ’74 was PAC Coach of the Year, AFCA Division III Coach of the Year for Region II and South Region Football Coach of the Year Gazette in 2005. Leipheimer is currently the defensive co-coordinator of head coach Mike Winslow, who coached the team’s wide receivers in 2005.

“It is an honor to represent you for this Hall of Fame induction,” said Leipheimer, who spoke on behalf of the team. “And I know I speak for all of you when I say thank you to everyone who made this possible.

“Maybe the best way to describe you guys is that you played with a huge heart. 2005 was really a special season. I’m extremely proud to have been a small part of your success.

“I am even more proud of the impact you have had on your families, churches and communities over the past 16 years. You have proven that ordinary men can accomplish extraordinary things when you focus on the process of being. a little better every day in every aspect of your life. “

The Tomcats placed in the nation’s top 30 in 2005 in several statistical team categories including: kickoff returns (7th, 23.9 PGJ), total defense (8th, 253 PGJ), ground defense (80.3 PGJ), turnover margin (24th, +11) and scoring defense (28th, 16.5 points per game).

Twenty Tomcats achieved All-PAC recognition in 2005. Two of the team were inducted into the Thiel College Sports Hall of Fame as individuals in 2019 – offensive tackle Dave Hendricks and running back Steve Minton .

Hendricks was named National Offensive Lineman of the Year and First Team All-American by Don Hansen’s Football Gazette in 2005. Named Little All-American by Associated Press (AP), Hendricks was also named All-American by AFCA and He was also selected to play at the Aztec Bowl in Toluca, Mexico, as a member of the AFCA Division III All-Stars.

Hendricks was an All-South region first team selection by Don Hansen’s Football Gazette and He was also named regional offensive lineman of the year by Don Hansen’s Football Gazette.

Minton ran for 1,066 yards on 230 carries in 2005. He scored 114 points on 19 touchdowns, both of which are single-season program records. He went on to win the Don Hansen’s Football Gazette All-American Honorable Mention, as well as All-South Region First Team honors. He was also appointed to Second team from the All-South region.

Others who have received national accolades in the 2005 team playoffs include:

Wide Receiver Brandon Chambers (Farrell High)

• Second All-American team by Football Gazette and

• First team of the All-South region by Football Gazette and

• Regional co-offensive player of the year by

Free Security Darious Thompson

• Second team in the All-South region by Football Gazette and

Defensive end Kevin Strouse

• Third team in the All-South region by Football Gazette

Defensive end Jon Howson

• Honorable Mention for the All-South region by Football Gazette

The offensive tackle Nelton Neal

• Honorable Mention for the All-South region by Football Gazette

Senior quarterback Darrell Satterfield and senior linebacker Tom Wozniak were the captains of the 2005 team. Defensive coordinator Joe Rossi is now the University of Minnesota defensive coordinator while assistant head coach and offensive coordinator John Marzka is the head coach of Albright College.


About Betty J. Snyder

Check Also

Paris Football Team announces its first two recruits

Graphics: Igor Lazarevic The The Paris football team announced the first two signings of its …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.